Australia Day was celebrated at community events around the Alpine Shire on Saturday 26 January 2019.

Alpine Radio volunteers and members who were present at the Mount Beauty event were surprised and delighted when the Alpine Shire Community Organisation of the Year award was presented to Alpine Radio.

​President, Linda Parkinson accepted the award on behalf of the Alpine Radio community.

“I am delighted to accept this award

on behalf of Alpine Radi

o with gratitude, deep appreciation and thanks to the people who nominated Alpine Radio; and whose effort in doing so has culminated in us receiving this award. This means so much to us. You are our community and the community to whom we owe thanks and who give us so much.”

Awards were presented for the following categories:

Alpine Shire Citizen of the Year

– Loretta Carroll

Alpine Shire

Local Achievers of the Year

  • ​Bright and District

    – Allan Poyner

  • Kiewa Valley –

    Rollo Kiek

  • Myrtleford and District –

    Loretta Carroll

Alpine Shire

Local Young Achievers of the Year

  • Bright and District –

    Teagan Atherstone

  • Kiewa Valley

    – Tarita Hutton

  • Myrtleford and District

    – Erin Bourke

Alpine Shire


ifetime Achievement Award

– Joseph Romeo

Community Event of the Year –

Mount Beauty United Cricket Club New Year’s Eve Party

Alpine Shire Citizen of the Year –

Loretta Carroll

Alpine Shire

Community Organisation of the Year –

Alpine Radio

Alpine Radio congratulates all the winners and all those who were nominated for awards.